National Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month recognizes the diverse and dynamic culture of a diaspora of people with ancestry from the Caribbean, Central America, Mexico, South America and Spain. In the U.S., Hispanic Heritage Month began as a week-long celebration in 1968 that was enacted into law in 1988 as a month-long observance, from Sept. 15 to Oct. 15.

National Hispanic Heritage Month commemorates several historic and significant events including the Independence of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua (Sept. 15), Mexico (Sept. 16), Chile (Sept. 18), and Belize (Sept. 21). Día de la Raza is observed during Hispanic Heritage Month (Oct. 12) and celebrated in Mexico, Colombia, Ecuador, Chile, El Salvador, Honduras, Costa Rica and Uruguay. Honoring the countries, people, traditions and cultures that were ravaged by European colonization, Día de la Raza is also recognized as Hispanic Heritage Day in Spain, Respect to Cultural Diversity Day in Argentina, Indigenous Resistance Day in Nicaragua and Indigenous Peoples’ Day in many U.S. cities.

While the U.S. designated name, National Hispanic Heritage Month, remains legally intact, the heritage month is also known by additional monikers such as Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month, Latina/o/x Heritage Month, and Latinx Heritage Month which intend to recognize intersectionality of multiple social identities, including gender. During Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month, and every day, WSU Vancouver celebrates the rich histories, cultures, contributions and accomplishments of Hispanic and Latinx people, including students, faculty, staff, alumni and external partners.

WSU Vancouver is dedicated to promoting an ethical and socially just society through an intentional commitment to inclusion, equity and diversity. Below are opportunities and resources for the campus community to advocate, amplify and actualize equity-mindedness, cultural responsiveness and inclusive excellence throughout this month and beyond.

Campus and community events during National Hispanic Heritage Month 2022

The Office of Equity and Diversity

SEEC Association: The Social Hour 
2:30 p.m. Fridays

  • Sept. 9, Undergraduate Building, first floor courtyard and lounge
  • Oct. 7, RichlandHub, 2420 Main St, Vancouver, WA 98660

Enter a space of community and support for staff, faculty and students from Black, Indigenous, Latinx and People of Color Communities. Connect, decompress and just be.  
RSVP for The Social Hour events

BaCE Program: Embedding Equity in the Search for Staff
3 – 5 p.m. Sept. 15
Receive strategies and tools to attract and retain staff candidates from a diversity of backgrounds.
Register for Embedding Equity in the Search Sept. 15

SEEC Association: 5th Annual TGT Welcome Back Mixer
2:30 p.m. Sept. 23
Dengerink Administration Building, Rooms 129 and 130
Welcome back gathering for WSU Vancouver faculty, staff and students from Black, Indigenous, Latinx and People of Color communities to get together and create mutually supportive networks.
RSVP for the mixer.

BaCE Program: How to Start an LGBTQ+ Staff and Faculty Association ERG at WSU Vancouver
2:30 – 4:30 p.m. Oct. 11
This session is for WSU Vancouver employees who are interested in starting an LGBTQ+ Staff and Faculty Association at WSU Vancouver. This session is open to the spectrum and intersections of identities (i.e., LGBTQ+, race, age, and more).
Register for Start an LGBTQ+ Staff and Faculty Association

Center for Intercultural Learning and Affirmation

Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration
6 – 8 p.m. Sept. 8
Firstenburg Student Commons north patio
Celebrate Hispanic/Latinx Heritage Month with games, activities, food and a performance by Vancouver Ballet Folklórico! Open to all.

Latinx Professionals Panel
Noon Sept. 13
Join a conversation with WSU alumni regarding navigating the workspace as a Latinx professional. Open to WSU Vancouver students, faculty and staff. Sponsored by the Carson College of Business and the Center for Intercultural Learning and Affirmation.

Dish it Up: Hispanic Heritage Month
Noon Sept. 21 
Bring your brown-bag lunch and talk about pressing issues, ideas and cultural experiences. Open to WSU Vancouver students, faculty and staff.

Latino Leadership Conference
Oct. 7 
Volunteer at a conference for area high school students. Email Sawyer Barragan to help.

For more information about CILA events, email

Southwest Washington and Portland

El Grito
11 a.m. – midnight, Sept. 15 and 16
Moda Center, 1 N Center Ct St, Portland, OR
This free two-day event featuring a variety of culturally specific, colorful and energetic performances and acknowledgments. At the end of day one, El Grito Mexicano will commence, an homage to “El Grito de Dolores,” that symbolizes the revolt for independence. Day two includes festivities, sponsors, vendors and ongoing performances.

Emrender Juntos
6 p.m. Sept. 29
Free via Zoom. Register to attend.
Presenter: Israel Serna, Google
Topic: Google—Dale utilidad a tu sitio web

Being LGBTQ+ and Latino/a/e/x: Exploring the intersection of race and gender
Noon Oct. 7
Free via Zoom. Download the meeting link here
The Washington State Latino Leadership Network and Rainbow Alliance and Inclusion Network will present this panel discussion. Everyone is welcome to attend the lunch and learn.

Cómo Empezar su Negocio
6 p.m. Oct. 10
Free via Zoom. Register to attend.
Presenter: Eric Sanchez, Hispanic Metropolitan Chamber
Topic: Pasos para ormalizer el negocio; estructuras legales; marketing; precios; finanzas