Chancellor's Award for Student Achievement

Zoe Minden

B.S., Electrical EngineeringZoe Minden

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Achievement recognizes a graduating student each academic year. The recipient is selected on the basis of academic achievement and love of learning, overcoming barriers in pursuit of academic goals, future leadership potential, involvement in campus life and other examples of achievement.

One of her professors calls Zoe Minden “a role model for women in the engineering program.” And no wonder. Her 3.93 GPA attests to the seriousness with which she approaches the subject. “She excels in all the projects she undertakes, and actively participates in all classes. She is also always earnest to learn science and new technologies,” said Professor Feng Zhao, who nominated her for the award.

She chose the challenging Renewable track and has completed the requirements for a Certification in Renewable Energy. “The renewable track opened up some career opportunities in terms of learning a different application of semiconductors,” she said. “The project side of things allowed me to learn a lot of skills that I will need in a career setting.”

During the pandemic, Minden did research with Zhao’s group. “She took initiative in her learning of research papers, carried over the research project and discussed with me and other graduate students over Zoom the research goals and progress,” Zhao said. “Her research results were the essential part of a peer-reviewed paper we published later on in a prestigious journal.”

In the summer of 2021, Minden interned at Qorvo in Hillsboro, Ore. as a data analyst. During that time, she said, “I used my opportunity to work with test engineers and technicians to observe how test programs of the circuit designs of different die and masks are developed and implemented. I worked in the die-sort engineering team and was able to advance my teamwork and communication skills.”

Beyond her academic pursuits, Minden is a typical college student. She has been involved with the Office of Student Involvement throughout her four years at WSU Vancouver, as well as student government and campus clubs, notably the IEEE student club, an association for future engineers. She was elected president of the club in her junior year, after serving as both secretary and treasurer before that. She hosted study groups through the IEEE club to engage students in club activities and connect with the community.

Minden often has a leadership role in her academic projects. “She has demonstrated leadership by motivating others to also succeed by listening to her team members, being willing to get her hands dirty, and being adaptable in unpredictable situations,” Zhao wrote.

Minden grew up in the Vancouver area and enrolled at WSU Vancouver right out of high school. She chose it in part because of the engineering program and in part because her mother was in one of the university’s first graduating classes. She plays flute and piccolo in the Clark College Orchestra and the Oregon Sinfonietta.

Her future looks promising. On May 28, she and Andrew Templin, a 2021 WSU Vancouver graduate, are getting married, and in the fall, she will begin her master’s degree program in electrical engineering at WSU Vancouver.

Past award recipients

2020 – 2021
Rebecca Daniel

2019 – 2020
Vince Chavez

2018 – 2019
Loren Horowitz

2017 – 2018
Navaraj "Raj" Lamichhane

2016 – 2017
Julian Rivas

2015 – 2016
Allegra Koupal

2014 – 2015
Kathrynn Gonzalez

2013 – 2014
Helena Lucia

2012 – 2013
Monica Santos-Pinacho

2011 – 2012
Dora Hernandez

2010 – 2011
Jerry Gowan

2009 – 2010
Mary Krzysiak

2008 – 2009
Amy Burton

2007 – 2008
David Neuhauser

2006 – 2007
Richard O'Brien

2005 – 2006
Laurie Giacomini

2004 – 2005
Melissa Huse

2003 – 2004
Kimiyo Kanekoa-Rivera

2002 – 2003
Robin Shanafelt

2001 – 2002
Jon Hartinger
Noelani Punwai

2000 – 2001
Major W. Harris Jr.

1999 – 2000
Laura Ellsworth

1998 – 1999
Michelle (Smith) Musso

1997 – 1998
Jimmie Wright

1996 – 1997
Karen Brown

1995 – 1996
Melody Miller

1994 – 1995
Pam Hilberg
Dennis Lambie

1993 – 1994
Michael Martin

1992 – 1993
Adam Baker
Paula Martin