Chancellor's Award for Service to WSU Vancouver

The Chancellor’s Award for Service to WSU Vancouver is given at the discretion of the chancellor to recognize and salute selfless dedication and commitment to the WSU Vancouver community. The award honors an individual who expresses that commitment through participation in campus activities, leadership on behalf of WSU Vancouver and dedication  of time, talent and resources toward advancing the university’s mission.

Michael C. Worthy

President and CEO of WW Payment Systems, Inc. and WSU Regent

Mike Worthy is a passionate Coug with a drive to elevate the university’s mission. To call him a super Coug might actually be an understatement.

A Vancouver resident, Worthy has been a WSU Regent since 2006. Among his many leadership positions at WSU, Worthy served as chair of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee to select current president Kirk Schulz, a member of the Chancellor's Advisory Council for WSU Vancouver and the WSU Foundation, and past president of the WSU Alumni Association.

Worthy has long held an interest in advancing higher education in the state of Washington. He served on the Washington Higher Education Coordinating Board and was chair of the board's fiscal committee before becoming a WSU Regent.

As a Regent, Worthy has provided a strong voice of support for WSU Vancouver students, faculty and staff. He remains active on the WSU Foundation Board of Trustees and philanthropically supports student scholarships, sponsors numerous events and activities for the Vancouver campus, and remains a trusted advisor to the chancellor.

Worthy is co-founder, president and CEO of WW Payment Systems, Inc., a financial services company focused on the commercial trucking industry, headquartered in Vancouver. He is generous with his time, speaking to business classes about his experience in the banking industry and making himself available to meet with students to share his knowledge. He received his bachelor’s degree in business administration and economics from WSU Pullman.

This is not the first time Worthy has been recognized for his contributions to WSU: He was awarded the WSU Alumni Achievement Award in 2002 and the WSU Foundation's Outstanding Service Award in 1996.

Past award recipients

2018 – 2019
Steve Horenstein, Horenstein Law Group

2016 – 2017
Dan Harmon, Hoffman Construction

2014 – 2015
Riverview Community Bank

2013 – 2014
Twyla Barnes

2011 – 2012
Leslie Wykoff

2010 – 2011
Bill Fromhold

2006 – 2007
Joe King, King and King

2005 – 2006
Bart Phillips, CREDC

2003 – 2004
Ed and Mary Firstenburg

2002 – 2003
Scott Campbell, The Columbian
Renee Hoeksel

2001 – 2002
Val Ogden

2000 – 2001
Tom Hougan
Sherry Vaughan

1999 – 2000
Al Bauer
Sam Smith

1997 – 1998
Jane Cote, Bob Weis and
Hewlett Packard

1996 – 1997
Earl Muir

1995 – 1996
John Shroyer

1994 – 1995
Joe Johnson and
Clark College

1993 – 1994
Bob Schaefer

1992 – 1993
Gay Selby